Articles in Press

[Voice Magazine] Fantasia to share the stage with the Santa Barbara Symphony

January 20, 2017

Having captured the imagination of generations, Walt Disney's animated Fantasia will morph into a musical masterpiece at Santa Barbara Symphony concerts on January 28th and 29th.

Under the baton of guest conductor David Lockington, the Symphony will provide stirring orchestral accompaniment to screened excerpts from the beloved films, along with Hindemith's richly colorful Symphonic Metamorphosis on Themes by Carl Maria von Weber and Lockington's own Ceremonial Fantasy Fanfare.

Read more »

[Noozhawk] Symphony Offers Mellow Alternative for New Year’s Eve

December 29, 2016

Once again, the choice is ours: We can head straight to the nearest traditional New Year's Eve party — traditionally loud, gin-soaked, and frantic — or we can take a more circuitous and leisurely trip toward midnight aboard the Santa Barbara Symphony's annual New Year’s Eve Pops Concert.

Starting at 8:30 p.m., this year as every year, the two-hour program, in the Granada Theatre, 1214 State St., generally finishes around 10:30 p.m. — plenty of time for us to rush out to a wild party and make fools of ourselves.

Read more »

[Voice Magazine] Piano Night at the Symphony

November 29, 2016

WHAT A TREAT! Two world-class pianists, one of whom is a Santa Barbara resident, an orchestra that has reached a level of professionalism and ensemble cohesion under conductor Nir Kabaretti that confirms with each concert, its standing as one of the best in the region, and a program of works for pianos and orchestra so interesting, the evening flew by. The piano soloists, our own Natasha Kislenko, and German born Markus Groh, whose career spans the globe, worked together as a superbly blended team for Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos in E-flat Major, K. 365, and each had opportunity to display their unique pianistic personalities during Manuel de Falla’s Nights in the Gardens of Spain (Kislenko) and Tchaikovsky’s monumental Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, Op. 23 (Groh).

Read more »

[Independent] S.B. Symphony Performs with Two Pianists

November 23, 2016

Natasha Kislenko and Markus Groh Join Orchestra for Remarkable Performance

The Santa Barbara Symphony gave a remarkable performance at the Granada last Saturday, playing compositions that featured talented pianists Natasha Kislenko and Markus Groh. The first piece, Manuel de Falla’s dreamy Nights in the Gardens of Spain, showcased Kislenko’s elegant touch, evocative of a summer romance in Andalusia.

Read more »

[Noozhawk] Symphony Puts Pianos Out Front

November 18, 2016

Under the title, "Favorite Piano Masterpieces," the Santa Barbara Symphony, conducted by Maestro Nir Karbaretti, plays its November concerts at 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 19, and 3 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 20, both in the Granada Theatre, 1214 State St.

On a slate that features two piano concertos and one quasi, the keyboard soloists will be Markus Groh and local heroine, Natasha Kislenko.

Separately and together, Groh and Kislenko will take the the lead roles (the theatrical term is apt, for once) in Manuel de Falla's "Nights in the Gardens of Spain (1915)"; Wolfgang Mozart's "Concerto No. 10 in Eb-Major for Two Pianos, K.365 (1779)"; and Peter Tchaikovsky's "Piano Concerto No. 1 in bb-minor, Opus 23 (1875)".

Read more »

[Montecito Journal] The Power of the Piano

November 17, 2016

Nir Kabaretti is a big fan of Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto #1, calling the famed work "probably the most perfect piano piece imaginable, because it has everything virtuosic, including heroic piano writing, but at the same time is extremely accessible" -- so much so that some of the passages "you can hear on cell phones as ring tones."

"Tchaikovsky captured pretty much everything audiences love: incredibly difficult and fast passages for the pianist, beautiful lines and melodies for the orchestra," said the music director of the Santa Barbara Symphony, which will perform the piece on this weekend's program. "There are extremely romantic and warm phrases combined with breathtaking portions for pianist, where he has to play octaves and even more difficult passages."

Read more »